3 puffy sleeve shirt hacks and inspiration

There’s something about historical undergarments as outerwear that I just love. I’m just so attracted to the idea of both women’s and men’s chemises. Is it the light, breathable linen ? The crisp white ? The loose, comfortable shape that lets me eat what I want ?

Maybe that’s why I keep sewing Garibaldi blouses. This is a historical pdf pattern I purchased from Truly Victorian. I think I first bought this pattern after watching the Poldark series. It’s a bit cheesy, but I love a good historical fiction ! I mean, look at Aidan Turner rocking his chemise on the beach !

Just need a pair of high waisted pants and a kerchief to top it off. Although I think for the Poldark social class it’s more likely to be called a stock or cravat.

So I’d like to show you some of my Garibaldi blouses.

Garibaldi Blouse #1

The first one I made, I already started diverging from the original pattern instructions 😈 Instead of making traditional cuffs, I added ties to the wrist. They are sewn down by a few stitches in the center back, and then I tie them when I get dressed.

😁 The good: Puffy cloud sleeves!

😱 The bad: The ties get wet when I wash my hands and my sleeves catch on door handles

🧐 To improve: I quickly realized that if you don’t put in the optional waistband, why waste all that time making buttonholes and buttons ? You can be sure I didn’t make that same mistake twice.


Garibaldi Blouse #2

For this version, I got closer to my Poldark inspiration by removing the button bands and cutting the front on the fold. I slashed the neckline to my desired depth and finished with self made bias binding.

I also shortened the took out some width on the sleeves in order to avoid further workplace danger but keep the puffy drama. I hand sewed snaps onto the cuffs for quick and easy dressing.

Closeup of shirt cuff with snap button closure

And finally I did a forward shoulder adjustment because I noticed the seams were sitting way too far back on the first version.

😁 The good: Super quick to throw on since the only closures are the cuffs.

😱 The bad: My big sleeves still catch on door handles, but I’ve come to accept the inherent hazards of this style

🧐 To improve: The snaps should have been sewn closer to the edge of the cuff, but are totally functional as is. It’s usually hidden by the sleeve anyway, so I’m sure only other sewists might have noticed!


Garibaldi Blouse #3

This one was made during the covid confinement. Can you tell I was inspired by this “freedom” fabric design ?

All closures on this version use ties. The fabric is quite delicate and wouldn’t have held up well with elastic or buttons. I also just find the idea of having a quiet, soft garment. No pokey metal bits or sounds of zippers, just soft fabric ties that you can adjust to your liking.

😁 The good: Freedom !

😱 The bad: I’m pretty happy with the result, but it takes several times of wearing a garment before I really decide what I like/don’t like.

🧐 To improve: to be determined…

This pattern is so easy to use and fun to hack. Check out my Garibaldi Blouse Inspiration board on Pinterest for more ideas ! If you do make a Garibaldi Blouse or other puffy sleeved confections, please tag me on IG ! @conniya

Leave a comment