Three skirts

I have less than two weeks left with my little sewing machine before I leave the country! I’m studying at Anyang University in South Korea this semester and then interning for six weeks in Chile (You can keep up with me on my travel blog ConniyaGoes). That means I won’t be able to sew. However, I’ve made several things over winter break that I have yet to take pictures of, so here’s the first batch!

Double Knit houndstooth circle skirt handmade by Conniya

This is a full circle skirt using a double knit hounds tooth print from Denver Fabrics. I was pretty disappointed in quality when I first received my order from them. However, I am liking it a lot more now that it’s in skirt form. This was my first time sewing double knit, which is a really stable fabric with just a little stretch. The waist is slight gathered by the 2″ elastic, and there are no seams. I didn’t hem it since the fabric was so stable at the bottom.

Pink circle skirt handmade by Conniya.

Another full circle skirt using a pink linen also from Denver Fabrics. It was not at all what I was expecting when I ordered it online. It is actually quite stretchy, and a pretty low quality. I decided to go ahead and make it into a circle skirt since trying to return it wasn’t going to be worth the effort. It has an interfaced waistband and lapped zipper in center back. To finish the hem, I attached a light pink single fold bias tape and hand stitched it to the underside. It wouldn’t usually be this wrinkly, but I was afraid my brother would change his mind about taking pictures if I took the time to iron it first hahaha.

Skirt handmade by Conniya. (Peplum skirt_Salme Patterns)Finally, a fitted skirt from the same double knit as the circle skirt. I used my peplum skirt pattern without the peplum (Salme Patterns). I really love this one! I think it’s really flattering and the slight stretch of the double knit makes it comfy. I used an invisible zipper in the back, and finished the hem by turning it under once and top stitching with a slight zigzag so it could stretch. The seam between waistband and skirt could sit a lot better, but it’s hard to use an iron on this fabric due to the way it’s printed.

 

Have a great day and don’t forget to follow me at www.conniyagoes.wordpress.com!

Leave a comment