A handmade Christmas part I

This is the dress I made for my friend Rachel! I thought it would be fun to sew something for her this year because we’re the same size and I really like making dresses 🙂  I used the Sonja dress pattern (Salme Patterns) that I had already altered to fit me.

Handmade Sonja Dress by Conniya

The fabric is one I already had. I am unsure of the fiber content, but it definitely has some poly in it. Unfortunately that didn’t keep it from getting a bit wrinkly after being wrapped up. The dress is fully lined with a navy cotton for the top and slick navy poly for the skirt in the hopes that it won’t stick to tights in cold weather. I used store bought double fold bias tape for the neck and armholes.

handmade Sonja Dress by Conniya I got the pattern to match really well at the front waist and fairly well at the back zipper.

Back view_Handmade Sonja Dress by Conniya

Now I just need to finish the other handmade Christmas gift I’m working on! Only a few days left.

4 thoughts on “A handmade Christmas part I

Leave a comment