Completed: gray knit and purple paneled peplum

I have two new shirts completed! I couldn’t think of an alliteration for this knit top, but it’s still awesome. I had just enough leftover fabric from the skirt I made a while ago to make a matching top!

Gray knit top and matching skirt.  Handmade by Conniya

I just love coordinates– just look at my Pinterest page haha. But this shirt also works well with the dreamy white skirt. This shirt is so comfy and the white skirt fabric also feels great against skin. Who says fashion shouldn’t be comfortable?

Gray knit top. Front view. Handmade by ConniyaI left the edges raw on purpose because I thought it looked cool. I still think so, but when paired with this skirt, I think it would look neater with a binding. I might go back and do that if I can scrounge up enough scrap fabric.

Gray knit top. Back View. Handmade by ConniyaI’m looking forward to making many more variations of this top. I’ve already got another one in the works. All I am going to say is…COLOR BLOCKING! It’s gonna be sweet.

This top is the same pattern as the clouds and swirls dress I’m still working on. (I’m wearing flip flops in this picture, which I don’t normally do- I HATE wearing flips flops btw)

Purple peplum top with gingham panel. Handmade by ConniyaI actually started this one before I started the dress version. Since I didn’t have instructions to follow, I ran into some time consuming technical difficulties (mostly regarding lining methods).

Purple peplum top with gingham panel. Front view. Handmade by ConniyaI’ve been wanting to make something with gingham for a while now. This gingham is from Grandma’s stash of fabric she let me go through. There wasn’t much of either of these fabrics, so this project made really good use of them. The shirt is more of a crop top. I would have made the peplum longer but I ran out of fabric. Since I’m not the belly baring type, I need to make a skirt or something high waist to wear with this. I’m really wanting to venture into the land of sewing pants and make some black trousers.

Purple peplum top with gingham panel. Back view. Handmade by ConniyaTo make the straps stay in place and be comfortable, I used elastic casing for the top back part. It’s a little bulky, but it works.

The next thing I want to to with this pattern is to add sleeves and raise the back. I actually hate wearing sleeveless tops- I usually only wear them at home or with a cardigan. I’m also wanting to experiment with flutter sleeves.

One thought on “Completed: gray knit and purple paneled peplum

  1. I love the second peplum shirt, I am not a big fan of purple but it really is a cute shirt. Looking forward to seeing the dress version. I also like how you added in the pink belt with the first outfit…something to balance out all the grey : ) At one point, I wanted to make pants but after doing some research…I got a bit overwhelmed at the process and sadly….quit. Maybe one day. Let me know how it goes if you do decide to venture into the world of sewing pants.

Leave a Reply

