A Grand Announcement: Sister Cities Etsy Shop

I am really excited to announce that I have opened an Etsy shop with my sister Natasha Moreland! You can find it right here: www.etsy.com/shop/sistercities

SC etsy banner

Today I wanted to share a short story on how and why I decided to start this store.

I discovered Etsy my sophomore year of high school and was completely blown away. I had never seen anything like it before, and was amazed at the range of unique products and skills I saw. At this point I knew how to crochet but was only starting to experiment with making round objects like hats. I didn’t know of many people who enjoyed making things like I did, and I hoped that maybe I would have the skill and guts to open my own Etsy store one day. Since then I have learned to knit and also enjoyed graphic design, which I dabbled in while running the high school newspaper. It wasn’t until last winter that I joined the world of sewing, but I was immediately in love.

Sewing is such a great skill to have. Even if you don’t make your own clothes, you can better appreciate and understand what goes into making the Ready To Wear clothes you buy at the store. Sewing gives you an alternative to mass manufactured uniforms and opens up infinite creative possibilities. Making my own clothes has given me more confidence in the way I dress, and I don’t have to worry if my clothes were made by some underpaid worker in another country. I have more of a personal connection and appreciation for my possessions. I want to share some of these things through Sister Cities.

Natasha and I decided this year that we were going to take the leap — we felt like if we didn’t try it now, then we would end up putting it off forever. So we swallowed our self-doubts and got to work. Everyone has to get started somehow. I always enjoy hearing stories of successful business owners and artists who had humble beginnings by walking around door-to-door with their designs or by selling scrunchies they made to their school friends. If they did it, then we can too!

We want Sister Cities to be a place where you can shop for yourself or for gifts to others. There will be women’s clothing, totes and small bags, and crochet toys/collectibles as well as anything else we dream up! Right now there are only a few things for sale, but many new items will continue to be added in the next few weeks. And we would love to hear feedback on the items you like the best and want to see more of– so stop by the shop and have a look and like our new Facebook page here.

4 thoughts on “A Grand Announcement: Sister Cities Etsy Shop

  1. I am definitely going to take a look at your store. I really like what you said about learning how to sew and about making your own clothes ( a alternative ). I wanted to make my own clothes, and in fact I came up with several ideas but I can’t sew anything so that idea has been put on the back burner unfortunately. I love that you guys are willing to step out and make something happen for yourselves with what you love to do with Sister Cities : ) Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

