Laurel Dress #2: Blue paisley linen with front pockets

This Laurel dress went twice as fast as the first one for several reasons. First, this is linen instead of slippery rayon. Second, I didn’t make an underlining so there was less cutting and basting. Third, because I’ve made this before!

P.S. I made the headband too. Yay DAISIESSSSS!

Blue paisley printed Laurel Dress_ front view Handmade by Conniya

Now let’s talk about the good and the bad.

Good: I wasn’t super crazy about this print when it was on the bolt, but I am crazy in love with it now. It’s really bright and I love the contrast in it. Because this fabric is easy to work with, I got the hem exactly like I wanted it

Bad: The neckline is too big because I adjusted it a little too much and forgot to staystitch. If I’m not careful, the top gets all lopsided and tries to hang off one shoulder.
Blue paisley printed Laurel Dress with front pockets. Handmade by Conniya

These pockets are awesome! They’re almost invisible because of the busy print. They are just big enough for my iPhone. I think the dress would look good with a belt, but I didn’t pack one (I’m only home for 3 weeks). Or maybe I could make one with some leftover fabric? We’ll see.
Blue paisley printed Laurel Dress_ sleeve and neckline. Handmade by Conniya

The sleeves seem longer in this version…What is going on around here?! The dress feels bigger all around actually, probably because the linen isn’t drapey like rayon. I took in each side of the skirt 3/4″ and it’s still a bit loose I think. Not sure what I’ll do on the next version of this dress. I think I’ll make a shirt version next. I want to do something drastic to change it up though…hmmm.Blue paisley printed Laurel Dress with pockets_ back view. Handmade by ConniyaIn this view you can see the gap at the neck. I hand sewed a hook and eye at the top but it came undone after literally running around the grandparents’ house in the wind, looking for a place to snap pictures.

I’ve been super busy at the sewing machine– I can’t wait to share them all. I might share a few sneak peeks on Instagram, so watch out!

Leave a Reply

