The Laurel dress in blush pink rayon challis

It’s done, it’s done, it’s finally done! I present my Laurel dress in blush pink rayon challis (with light gray polyester/cotton underlining). This was my first Colette Pattern, and my first time sewing with rayon. I feel like I spent hours cutting out and basting the pattern pieces because I didn’t want to mess up with this slippery fabric. My dress feels great, and I’m happy with how it turned out.
These pictures were taken after going to the movies– I promised I ironed it before I went out!

View 1_ pink rayon challis Laurel dress. Handmade by Conniya

I love the pattern, and I definitely want to make more of this dress. The only intentional change I made was to lower the neckline because it was choking me. Unintentionally, the hem ended up a little short because I had to make up for the uneven fabric at the bottom of the back seam. Darn you, slippery fabric!View 2_ pink rayon challis Laurel dress. Handmade by Conniya

OHMIGOD THERE’S A TREE COMING OUT OF MY HEAD. My brother took these pictures haha.
View 3_ pink rayon challis Laurel dress. Handmade by Conniya

I can’t decide whether I should make the bottom half a size smaller or not. There’s plenty of extra space down there, but I want it to stay loose enough that sitting down is still easy and comfortable since this fabric has no stretch.

Back view of pink rayon challis Laurel dress. Handmade by Conniya

I really like the bright, coral-ish pink I chose for the bias binding ❤Sleeve and collar closeup of pink rayon challis Laurel dress. Handmade by Conniya

And here are a couple shots of me and my sister, Natasha. Aww, sisterssss ❤

With Natasha_ pink rayon challis Laurel dress. Handmade by Conniya Squishy faces with Natasha_ pink rayon challis Laurel dress. Handmade by ConniyaAfter this we went and petted the dwarf bunnies at Orschelyn’s. I want a pet bunny one day!

Holding a dwarf bunny, wearing pink rayon challis Laurel dress. Handmade by Conniya                   Holding a dwarf bunny while wearing my Pink Rayon Challis Laurel Dress. Handmade by Conniya.

P.S. You’re not crazy; the blog DOES look different. Hope you like the changes. I’ve added a blogroll to the sidebar with some of my favorite blogs. Check ’em out!

Leave a Reply

