Sewing Projects Catch-up: pencil skirt, maxi skirt, and thrifted dress

It’s taken so long for me to get pictures of some of these projects that I’ve resorted to self-taken iPhone pictures :/ Sorry about the quality

This first one was one of those huge, old-lady maxi dresses you see a ton of in thrift shops.

Before version of thrift store dress. Conniya

The dress has two side seams and one seam running down the back. I took in the side seams and shortened it, not bothering with bust darts because I was fine with having a loose fitting top. In order to make the neck and shoulder area to fit, I also had to take in the top of the back seam.
Full length view. Thrifted and altered dress. Conniya

I really like the neutral palette. This pattern is similar to the one on my favorite romper that is too big for me now, so I’ll think of it as a replacement 🙂Torso. Conniyacloseup of neckline. ConniyaThis pencil skirt is made from some charcoal gray ponte knit I got at JoAnn’s. I absolutely love it! I have some in light gray and navy as well, but haven’t decided what to do with it yet.

Front view of ponte knit pencil skirt in charcoal gray. Conniya

I based the pattern off of another pencil skirt, but made this one a tad bit longer. I wore this skirt to an interview yesterday.ponte knit pencil skirt in charcoal gray. Conniya

I love this outfit! I picked this adorable pink crop top up in the mall on clearance. It’s pretty cheap, but I figure I can cut it up and make my own replicas whenever I’m done with this one. This skirt started out with an elastic waistband (in February), but I didn’t like how it looked. I ripped out all the old stitches and made a new waistband and inserted a zipper. This was the first time I’ve done any gathering before. It’s not very even, so I’m thinking about ripping out the stitches and redoing it. I have leftovers from this fabric so I might experiment with different lengths in the future.

Full length. Pink crop top and white eyelet cotton maxi skirt with side split. Conniya

I swear I measured everything, but the waistband ended up being a little tighter than I would have preferred. It’s very high waisted now, but it’s still a good length.White maxi skirt with split. Waistband closeup. Conniya

 

 

Thought I’d throw in a little extra here! I dyed this white t-shirt purple ombre last summer. My brother dyed one for himself too.
purple and white ombre shirt. Conniya

Big plans coming soon! And I’m still working on my Laurel dress 😀 Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

