Bright, handmade summer purse (and new shoes!)

Look what I made yesterday!

handmade purse, thrifted cutoffs. by Conniya

And I got these shoes over the weekend at Shoes Carnival ❤ (My brother got some new shoes as well)new shoes

The shorts are cutoffs I made from Goodwill jeans a couple of weeks ago, and the Kpop t-shirt is one I’ve had for a while.

I could probably stare at the pattern of the purse for hours. When you look at it one way, it looks like 3D boxes with a stud in the center…But let your eyes refocus, and it looks like rows of striped diamonds (vertical gray/white stripes, horizontal yellow/gray stripes). Trippy! Reminds me of those holographic folders that were so cool in middle school.
handmade purse. by Conniya

This was my first time sewing a zipper, and it was pretty simple. The duck cloth is really bad about getting frayed, but after cutting all the fringies off the zipper opening looked okay after all.

Purse in progress: front view of zipper. by Conniya      Purse in progress: back view of zipper. by Conniya

I didn’t have any really stiff interfacing, so I used some plain duck cloth as the inside layer to give it structure (Except for the handle).
Pieces for a purse. by ConniyaThe only problem I ran into was that I miscalculated the length I needed to go around the circle so I had to cut an extra square to cover the bottom of the purse. As a result there is one extra seam at the bottom so it’s not a big deal. Measure twice and cut once! Lesson learned.

2 thoughts on “Bright, handmade summer purse (and new shoes!)

Leave a Reply

