My bookshelf + interview with author Darnell Arnoult

what's on my bookshelfFrom left to right:

1. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

Last week I finally passed the halfway point in Les Miserables! I feel confident that I can finish it before Christmas (I’m a fast reader). This book is amazing, but it is easy to get bogged down in parts such as when Hugo starts listing philosophers, French history, and describes Waterloo for a very long time. Everything I know about French history are the bits I remember from AP European history in high school, which is to say not very much.

2. Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain

I snagged this during one of Amazon’s lightning deals for a great price, and I can’t wait to read it! I’ve always felt kind of bad about being an introvert because it seems that everyone prefers an outspoken “people person” and most careers require you to be an extrovert. I’m excited to see what Cain has to say about introverts (and how awesome we are :P).

3 & 4. The Midnighters trilogy by Scott Westerfeld

I’ve already read the first one and enjoyed it, but put off finishing the trilogy until I got done with Les Miserables. I might be getting a little old for these books, but I’m still gonna read the heck out of them.

5. Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

This was an instant classic when it was written, and I hear Lolita references fairly often. I think I’ll really enjoy this book (I read a few lines of Nabokov’s book Pale Fire), and I’ll probably start it after I finish Les Mis and Quiet.

6. Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen

Dessen is great at creating complex, flawed female characters who are stronger than they realize. The first Dessen book I read was This Lullaby, which I loved. I’ve found that I either love or hate her books. I recommend The Truth About Forever and Just Listen.

 

int cptr

Darnell Arnoult is the author of Sufficient Grace and What Travels With Us: Poems. My boyfriend did this interview for a class assignment, and I thought it might be cool to share on here. I haven’t read Sufficient Grace (yet), but from the bits my boyfriend has read aloud to me, it sounds interesting. I’ve read some of her poems, which I really enjoyed. Check out her work here and here.

Click here to read>>> interview with Darnell Arnoult.

One thought on “My bookshelf + interview with author Darnell Arnoult

Leave a Reply

