REVIEW: The Mad Potter in Lexington, KY

As part of my birthday, my sister and I went to a Paint Your Own Pottery place in Lexington called The Mad Potter. While I enjoyed spending time with my sister and painting pottery, I was disappointed with this business. Compared to the Funky Monkey in Draffenville, KY, the Funky Monkey wins hands down. Here’s why.

1. $$$

When I walked in The Mad Potter, I was pretty sure that I wanted to paint a ring dish like one I had seen in Funky Monkey that was only $6. The exact same product was $12 at The Mad Potter. I noticed at pretty much all the items were priced higher than the Funky Monkey.

Diamond design inspired by Hyuna’s new song, “Ice Cream.” One line I have stuck in my head is “my diamond ring, so bling bling.”

2. Service

The atmosphere at Funky Monkey was warm, friendly, and energetic. The employees were very outgoing and helpful. There were racks of books to look through if you needed some inspiration, lazy susans to make painting large objects easier, and a wide variety of brushes available.

There is a subtle pattern of St. George cross stitches in white, inspired by my growing interest in embroidery.

None of these things were at The Mad Potter. There was a lot of awkward silence since my sister and I were the only customers in the store for almost the entire time we were there. The employees didn’t seem to be extremely knowledgeable, and they don’t make customers wash their hands before touching unpainted pottery (I saw several dirty fingerprints on products).

3. Quality

This is the biggest issue I had with The Mad Potter. Both mine and my sister’s finished pieces had imperfections on the bottom. It looks like someone took a drill to it. Mine only had one spot, but Natasha’s has three. Our theory is that whoever fired the pottery must have done it at the wrong temperature or dropped it onto something.

The Funky Monkey can take up to two weeks to fire your pottery, but at least they don’t give it back with holes in the bottom.

It took a little while to paint all those tiny crosses on the bottom, which is how I know that that hole was NOT there before it was fired.

Conclusion

If you can find another PYOP place around Lexington, definitely check that out before going to The Mad Potter. And if you’re in western Kentucky anytime, you should stop by the Funky Monkey for a fun and affordable painting experience. Besides the hole in the bottom of my ring dish, I’m pretty happy with how it looks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

