Visual Project Library: Granny shoes, owl pillow, geometric hat, sleepy dormouse

I have come to the conclusion that I accomplish more things when I have specific plans, so I’ve drawn up some of the craft projects I am working on/planning in the hopes that they’ll get done sooner. Here are a few things from my visual to-do list so far:


I call these my granny shoes because I actually took these from my grandma a couple years ago (she was going to donate them to Goodwill since they pinched her toes). These little slip-on, canvas shoes have served me well. Up until now, they’ve been blank, which is all about to change as I take on the challenge of embroidering anything I can get my hands on hahaha. I used a couching stitch on one side of each shoe so far. I’m not sure about the front yet, since the top is elasticized (French knots, maybe?).

 

 

Crocheted Owl Pillow

I bought the yarn for this project already but haven’t started it. I’m going to use all single crochet stitches (like you do in amigurumi projects) so I won’t have to worry about lining it before it’s stuffed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Natasha’s Knitted Hat

I’m going to make a two-color hat for my sister as a Christmas gift. I’ve only recently gotten into two-colored knitting; while it’s not quite as simple as two-color crocheting, it’s simpler than I thought it would be. I really like the cream and gray color yarn I picked out.

The geometric pattern is taken from a school library book: Sampler Knitting by Barbara Walker.

 

 

 

 

 

 

A Sleepy (embroidered) Dormouse

I’m sure you recognize this little guy from Alice in Wonderland. This is my first big embroidery project. I traced him with a water soluble marker (I smudged it a little…) onto white cotton material. I’m having a bit of trouble with my stem stitches; they’re either tiny (like the tip top of the tea pot) or large and look more like satin stitches. This is mostly intended as a practice piece anyway, so I’m not going to stress about it too much.

Leave a Reply

